The MD of Peace No.135 is separated into 5 divisions, with one Councillor elected from each division at the municipal elections held every 4 years.  The Reeve is chosen from among the 5 Councillors at the Organizational Meeting held in October each year. Municipal elections were last held in October 2017.

The criteria for a councillor:

  • must be at least 18 years of age
  • is a Canadian citizen
  • has resided in Alberta for the six consecutive months immediately preceding election day and the person’s place of residence is located in the area on election day
  • has been a reisdent of the MD of Peace No.135 and the ward (division) for the six consecutive months immediately preceding nomination day; and
  • is not otherwise ineligible or disqualified (see Section 22 of the Local Authorities Election Act for candidate ineligibility).

Council meetings are held on the 2nd Tuesday of each month starting at 9:00 a.m. and tend to be finished by 3:00 p.m. In October of each year, Council holds their Organizational Meeting at which the Reeve and Deputy Reeve are elected from among the Councillors. As well, councillors decide which committees they will sit on and attend meetings in order to represent the MD of Peace.

Click on this link for a list of the 2018-2019 Committees the MD is a member of and which Councillor attends on behalf of the MD Council Board Committee appointments – Oct 23 2018.